AGM batteries - some information

Submitted: Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 17:35
ThreadID: 45796 Views:2633 Replies:8 FollowUps:20
In my professional capacity I'm currently doing some research and analysis on a range of 12V AGM batteries and have observed some interesting results. Most manufacturers specify their batteries not be discharged below 10.5 volts and it is well know the less a battery is discharged the longer it's life will be. There is a significant shortening of life for batteries which are usually discharged to 10V5.

Having conducted tests on a numbers of batteries, from different manufacturers, ranging in capacity from 4Ah to 90Ah I was a little surprised when I did some calculations on the results: batteries yields the vast majority of their energy whilst their terminal voltage is above 11V5, in fact during the transition from 11V5 to 11V0 they produce approx. 13% of their capacity and during the transition from 11V0 to 10V5 they produce approx. 3% of their capacity.

My conclusion from this data is that discharging an AGM battery battery below 11V0 will produce so little extra energy as to be almost worthless and will certainly shorten the battery life significantly. Additionally; discharging below 11V5 is not worth shortening the battery life for unless you absolutely have to.

My results were obtained from experiments conducted in a temperature controlled NATA accredited lab, using calibrated measuring equipment and purpose designed electronic discharge loads and a 16 bit data acquisition system.

mike_harding@fastmail.fm

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 17:55

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 17:55
Mike your results seem to blow the myth that volts can be used as a direct indicator of how much power is in the battery. eg: 13.8v = 100% & 10v = 0% with an equal scale in between.
Are your tests on automotive batteries by any chance or station class for use with solar & batt chargers?
Cheers Craig........
AnswerID: 241885

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:05

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:05
Hi Craig

I'm not aware of any AGMs recommended for under-bonnet use, AGMs are not very tolerant of high temperatures.

The ones I have tested so far are all suitable for cyclic or standby use.

A fully charged AGM will have a terminal voltage of around 12V6 - it may read higher on your digital multimeter but put a small load on it for 2 minutes and it will drop to 12V6ish.

13V8 is the "float charge" voltage for lead acid batteries.

NB. Cheap digital multimeters ($10) are often inaccurate - I have one which reads 14V on a 12V battery! Even expensive ones should be calibrated every year.

FollowupID: 502849

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 07:57

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 07:57
Hi Mike, interesting read and if you carryout similar tests on wet cell batteries, the results are about the same.

I’m with Sand Man on not taking batteries down to 9v.

You can and if you have even the smallest of loads, once the battery gets to around the 11v mark and this backs what you were saying about how little stored capacity there is bellow 11v, the battery will get to 9v in a very short time and ANY battery taken down that low, particularly while under load, will be irrevocably damaged.

When using a fridge with a 10.5 volt cut-out, this cut-out will most likely occur while the fridge is running so that once the cut-out occurs, the battery’s voltage will actually rise.

There is a complex calculation that gives you the battery’s capacity using the terminal voltage plus the load being applied to the battery and based on the size of the battery, ambient temperature and so on, that will give you a very accurate indication of the SoC of the battery and is too make trouble for the average user to both with ( including myself )

As you posted, keeping above 11v is the simplest way to go unless you have something that cuts out automatically for you.

As to AGMs under the bonnet, both Odyssey and Optima make AGM batteries specifically for this use, and I imagine there are others.

FollowupID: 502984

Reply By: pepper2 - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:32

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:32
Mike interesting results thankyou for sharing the info,out of interest what type of battery would you suggest for under bonet location mainly to run a fridge.???
AnswerID: 241895

Reply By: Col_and_Jan - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:43

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:43
I got figures off one site, and plotted them. Cant guarantee they are right, but it does show that most of the capacity is only available at the higher voltages. Definately not a linear scale. Hope this works.

Col

AnswerID: 241896

Follow Up By: Col_and_Jan - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:48

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:48
I'll try again. That method for posting an image works on other forums.

Pity this forum doesnt have a preview button!
FollowupID: 502870

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:27

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:27
Hi Col

I haven't yet done the calculations for above 11V5 but your graph would seem to, pretty much, agree with my results, ie. below 11V5 the battery only has about 16% of capacity remaining.

FollowupID: 502882

Follow Up By: Col_and_Jan - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:42

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:42
I'm new to second batteries and fridges. I wanted to see how the voltage correlates to the capacity of the battery. The fridge has a cut out at 10.4V, and I wanted to know what state the battery would be in at that voltage.

If the graph is correct, there isnt much value in running the battery down any less than 11.5V. Like you said, very little capacity left, with the possibility of reducing the battery life.

Its good to see some decent tests done. I note that AGMs arent the best under the bonnet because of heat. What would you recommend once my second (an N70 cranking) batteries needs replacing.

Col

FollowupID: 502885

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 21:17

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 21:17
Col,

At 10.4V the state of the battery is dead flat and probably cactus.

A cutout of 11.6V will leave about 20% left in the battery and is as low as you would want to go.

I have buggered two batteries by leaving the fridge running without a low battery cutout in the circuit. I now have this cutout device. (11.6V)

10.4V is way too low and will provide no protection.

FollowupID: 502925

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 21:29

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 21:29
>At 10.4V the state of the battery is dead flat and probably cactus.

Not correct. It's quite possible to take lead acid's down to around 9V or so but it must not be done too often and it's best if a slow recharging process, following such a deep discharge, is adopted.

FollowupID: 502931

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 21:53

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 21:53
Mike,

One was a wet cell lead acid and one was and AGM lead acid. (Orbital)
They both ended up buggered. Wouldn't hold a charge no matter how I charged them. Tried the multi-stage 15 amp charger, tried pulsing them. In short, they were rooted.

Don't know how you get down to 9 volts mate. 10.4 volts equals 0% state of charge, or 1.7 volts per cell.

FollowupID: 502938

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 22:10

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 22:10
A quick Google gives the following:

Site Link

1V67 per cell - if you check the full data sheet the manufacturer specifies the battery down to 9V6 or 1V60 per cell.

FollowupID: 502942

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 22:15

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 22:15
Yeh, I understand what you are saying Mike, but 10.4 volts equals 0% static charge, so in my book going lower still means zero charge.

FollowupID: 502943

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 22:57

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 22:57
Sandman: I can only quote the manufacturers specification - if you think they are wrong... I suggest you take it up with them.

FollowupID: 502958

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:46

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:46
That why I like and use these little Blighters

www.optimabatteries.com.au/

AnswerID: 241899

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:27

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:27
Doug

These batteries are AGM batteries - the difference to the others is the the spiral construction.

FollowupID: 502902

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:42

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:42
disco1942
Yeh ok ......what are you on about , you lost me or did I lose you , 1 I know the post was about AGM I see they have a problem as pointed out by Mike' and for the benefit of others who may not know the Optima brand exists I put a link up for them , Is that OK ,

Doug

FollowupID: 502906

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:55

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:55
Hi Doug

I was just pointing out that the Optimas have a similar characteristic as the ones were the subject of the original post. They are good batteries, just helping you to understand them.

FollowupID: 502911

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 21:01

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 21:01
Yep thanks for the below, I sure do understand the batteries I have under the bonnet. I have had no problems since they were installed 15 months ago , bloody expensive too but the one that does all the work is the 2nd , it runs 2X55w rotating lights,2X75w wig wags , 2 CBs, 2 headlights, Car radio, Fridge, and at times the Codan , all day ,

FollowupID: 502917

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:20

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:20
HEEELPPPPP i need some backup at PostID: 45802 with some D/Head samsgoneagain

AnswerID: 241924

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:56

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:56
Have already put my support in for you

FollowupID: 502914

Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 21:21

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 21:21
Sorry guys: I cannot recommend any particular make or chemistry of battery for underbonnet use.

You could use an AGM but be aware that the elevated temperature _will_ shorten it's lifetime.

Wet cell deep discharge work well in this application but have charging limitations. In fact AGMs have charging limitations too - don't be mislead into thinking you can stuff huge amounts of currents into them... check the specifications.

It's not a perfect world :)

AnswerID: 241937

Follow Up By: SCUBADOO - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 06:22

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 06:22
Here is a result from another forum:
Site Link

Neville
FollowupID: 502980

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 08:40

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 08:40
Hi Scubadoo, that link was also an interesting read but I think you will find half the info there is based on a specific brand of battery and is not all that relevant in a standard set-up.

The recommendation to use thinner cable is a dead give-away.

Some AGMs, contrary to common beliefs, do not like high charge currents. For example ( if I remember correctly ) Fullriver batteries should not be charged with a current greater than 20% of the batteries total capacity.

In other words, a 100 A/H battery should not be charged with an input current rate greater than 20 amps. So, without spending a fortune on some sort of current regulator, how do you limit the charge current coming from your alternator?

Another mislead bit of info, also touched on by mike, is that that states a given type of AGM can be charge with the full inrush current and not be damaged.

Now this is good to know as it means the battery should have no problems when used in an automotive set-up but many people take this as meaning that the battery will take everything the alternator can put out.

Not so, for this type of battery to absorb maximum current during charging, there has to be a few other requirements met, like constant and correct temperature and charge voltage. None of which are ever available while charging these batteries in a vehicle.

Most AGM at best only charge slightly quicker than ordinary batteries when being used in a vehicle.

The main advantages of AGMs over ordinary vehicle batteries is their longer expected operating life and that they can be left for much longer periods while not in use and the disadvantage is their price.

FollowupID: 502991

Reply By: D-Jack - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 21:58

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 21:58
Yeh, we all know the best battery for deep cycle work is not the AGM, the perfect battery for all deep cycle work - DNE.

D-Jack
AnswerID: 241947

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 08:16

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 08:16
Hi D-Jack, there are AGMs that make for perfect deep cycle batteries but as Mike has pointed out, you need to check the manufacture’s web sites to get the correct info, not just relating to charging but also on the intended use of ANY AGM battery.

Unlike good old wet cell batteries, cranking or deep cycle, AGMs are very use specific and you should pick the type of AGM that is stated by it’s manufacture as being suitable for your particular needs.

FollowupID: 502988

Follow Up By: Gronk - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 09:28

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 09:28
There is no perfect batt for deep cycle work !!!

Why.....because no batt likes to be deep cycled....the shallower the cycle the better !!

For a remote batt ( back of 4x4 or CT etc ) an AGM is by far the easiest and best ( apart from cost ) option !!

I go camping for 4 days ( CT with 140ah batts, Waeco 60ltr fridge, lights etc ) come home and plug in the multistage charger for approx 1 day then forget about the batts till next camping trip !!!! No watering, no spillage, no gas, nothing to worry about !!

But I never let the voltage go below 11.8 when camping !! ( although this rule could get broken if the beer was at stake !!!!! )
FollowupID: 502998

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 08:23

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 08:23
Hi Mike

It reads like your getting paid for this - lifes a lot of fun isn't it.

Most of the action with batteries takes place in range of about 1V 11.7-12.7
this being range for 0-100% charge (+- little bit ,type dependant)

Noting various comments about discharged voltage a catch here is that its a variable dependant on definition.

While batteries will obviously still put out something at 10.5v , when manufacturer states his has say 100AH at a certain discharge rate then at 100% discharge the volts is likely to be around 11.8V or so , and at this definition the battery gives its claimed life cycles.

Conversely if same conditions applied and 10.5 were to be considered discharged then battery would deliver more say 110ah but would not meet its previously claimed no of cycles.

AnswerID: 241981